The Shute Shield
Sydney's Premier Club Rugby Competition

The Charter Hall Shute Shield is the premier club rugby competition in Australia and was struck in honour of the late Robert Elliot Stewart Shute.

Founded in 1924, the Shield Shield is Sydney’s premier grade rugby union competition, played from April to September. The trophy was established in honour of the late Robert Elliott Stewart Shute who passed away on June 5, 1922, following a match at Manly Oval.

The Shute Shield is awarded at the end of the Sydney Club Rugby season to the team that wins the Grand Final. The competition format currently involves an 19-week round-robin style, which is followed by a four-week playoff series culminating in the grand final.

The competition consists of thirteen clubs around the Sydney & Newcastle. Stan/Nine Network will broadcast all matches for the 2021 season including the finals live and free on Nine GEM.