The Shute Shield

The Charter Hall Shute Shield is the premier club rugby competition in Australia and was struck inaugurated in honour of the late Robert Elliot Stewart Shute.

Founded in 1923, the Shute Shield is Sydney’s premier grade rugby union competition, played from April to September. The trophy was established in honour of the late Robert Elliott Stewart Shute who passed away on June 5, 1922, following a match at Manly Oval.

The Shute Shield is awarded at the end of the Sydney Club Rugby season to the 1st Grade team that wins the Grand Final. The competition format currently involves a 18-week round-robin style, which is followed by a playoff series culminating in the grand final.

The competition consists of twelve clubs from the Sydney & Newcastle region. Stan Sport & Nine Network broadcast all matches including the finals live and free on NineGEM.