Match of the Round Preview - Warringah v Randwick

NSW Rugby Union
by NSW Rugby

Round Two of the Charter Hall Shute Shield features a blockbuster clash between Warringah and Randwick at Pittwater Rugby Park, with the home side looking to return to finals footy after a disappointing 2020 campaign.

Last season was the first since 2013 that the Rats had not featured in the Shute Shield finals. Despite poor early form in 2020 the side did build some late season momentum, winning three of their last five and finishing the year eight points adrift from finals. 

Warringah Head Coach Michael Ruthven will be looking to ensure that this momentum and early fixtures at fortress Rat Park will allow his side a more positive start to this season. In the corresponding match last year, Randwick got the better of the Wicks in a 13-8 thriller at Coogee Oval. 

Randwick easily accounted for West Harbour in Round One to kick start their season, running out comfortable 52-17 winners away from home. The Wicks never looked seriously challenged in their opening round victory, scoring the first four tries of the match to establish an early and unassailable lead. 

Head Coach Ben McCormack has made only three changes to his Round One side, with Australian Sevens player Triston Reilly named at inside center for his first match of the season. 

The potential combination of Reilly and Randwick winger Christian Yassmin, who scored a double against West Harbour, will no doubt be a focus of the Wicks attack on Saturday. 

With these two proud Club Rugby sides eager to return to the upper echelon of Shute Shield contention, expect an attacking brand of Rugby to feature at Rat Park on Saturday. 



1. Rory O'Connor
2. Wes Thomas 
3. Apolosi Ranawai
4. Andrew Davies 
5. Hugh Margin
6. Alex O'Dell
7. Rory Suttor
8. Max Girdler
9. Harry Brown
10. Dean Blore
11. Charlie Tupu
12. Tyson Davis
13. Ben Woolett
14. Esera Chee-Kam
15. Ben Marr


1. Chris Eves
2. Dave Vea
3. Wayne Borsac 
4. Tom Pirrodi
5. Zac Shepherd
6. Ben Houston
7. Tom Serhon
8. Jamie Rickward
9. Mitch Short
10. Ben Starkey
11. Jackson Mohi
12. Kristian Jensen
13. Triston Reilly
14. Christian Yassmin
15. Zac Carr

Pittwater Rugby Park – 3pm 

Watch the Charter Hall Shute Shield Ad-Free, Live, and On-Demand on Stan Sports.